Scripture Readings - New Testament Readings

New Testament Readings

The books of the Bible which contain the revelation of God since the coming of Christ: the four Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, the seven General Epistles, the fourteen Epistles of Saint Paul, and the Book of Revelation (Apocalypse).

The center of the New Testament part of the Bible is the four gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John who are called the four evangelists, which means those who wrote the gospels. Gospel in Greek is ‘evangelion’ which, as we have seen, means the “glad tidings” or the “good news.”
In the New Testament scripture there is also the book of the Acts of the Apostles, written by St. Luke. There are fourteen letters called the epistles (which simply means letters) of the Apostle Paul, though perhaps some, such as the Letter to the Hebrews, were not written directly by him. Three letters are also ascribed to the Apostle John; two to the Apostle Peter; and one each to the Apostles James and Jude. Finally there is the Book of Revelation, also called the Apocalypse, which is ascribed to St. John as well.
For the Orthodox, the Bible is the main written source of divine doctrine since God Himself inspired its writing by His Holy Spirit (see 2 Tim 3:16 and 2 Pet 1:20). This is the doctrine of the inspiration of the Bible, namely that men inspired by God wrote the words which are truly their own human words—all words are human!—but which nevertheless may be called all together the Word of God. Thus, the Bible is the Word of God in written form because it contains not merely the thoughts and experiences of men, but the very self-revelation of God.
The center of the Bible as the written Word of God in human form is the person of the Living Word of God in human form, Jesus Christ. All parts of the Bible are interpreted in the Orthodox Church in the light of Christ since everything in the Bible leads up to Christ and speaks about Him (Lk 24: 44). This fact is symbolized in the Orthodox Church by the fact that only the book of the four gospels is enthroned on the altars of our churches and not the entire Bible. This is so because everything in the Bible is fulfilled in Christ.

Reading Read Time Hit Count
Luke 19:29-40;22:7-39 (Monday before lent) 5 mins 4927
Matthew 24:34-44 (16th Saturday after Pentecost) 1 min 4006
Luke 19:37-44 (11th Monday of Luke) 1 min 4168
Matthew 24:36-26:2 (Holy Tuesday – Presanctified) 7 mins 4192
Luke 19:45-48 (11th Tuesday of Luke) - 3939
Matthew 25:1-13 (17th Saturday after Pentecost) 1 min 4559
Luke 20:1-8 (11th Wednesday of Luke) 1 min 3969
Luke 20:9-18 (11th Thursday of Luke) 1 min 5570
Matthew 25:14-30 (16th Sunday after Pentecost) 2 mins 5699
Luke 20:19-26 (11th Friday of Luke) 1 min 4119
Matthew 25:31-46 (2nd Sunday before lent – Meatfare) 2 mins 6065
Matthew 26:2-20 (Holy Thursday) 2 mins 7011
Luke 20:27-44 (12th Monday of Luke) 2 mins 4124
Matthew 26:6-16 (Holy Wednesday – Presanctified) 1 min 4141
Luke 20:45-21:4 (4th Saturday before lent) 1 min 6109
Matthew 26:21-39 (Holy Thursday) 2 mins 6215
Luke 21:5-7, 10-11, 20-24 (12th Wednesday of Luke) 1 min 4062
Matthew 26:40-27:2 (Holy Thursday) 4 mins 5546
Luke 21:8-9; 25-27; 33-36 (3rd Saturday before lent) 1 min 6842
Luke 21:12-19 (12th Tuesday of Luke) 1 min 4308
Matthew 26:57-75 (3rd Passion Gospel) 2 mins 7905
Luke 21:12-19 (Holy New Martyrs of Alaska) 1 min 3920
Matthew 27:1-38 (Vespers) 4 mins 4393
Matthew 27:1-56 (Holy Friday Royal Hours – First Hour) 6 mins 5299