Scripture Readings - New Testament Readings

New Testament Readings

The books of the Bible which contain the revelation of God since the coming of Christ: the four Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, the seven General Epistles, the fourteen Epistles of Saint Paul, and the Book of Revelation (Apocalypse).

The center of the New Testament part of the Bible is the four gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John who are called the four evangelists, which means those who wrote the gospels. Gospel in Greek is ‘evangelion’ which, as we have seen, means the “glad tidings” or the “good news.”
In the New Testament scripture there is also the book of the Acts of the Apostles, written by St. Luke. There are fourteen letters called the epistles (which simply means letters) of the Apostle Paul, though perhaps some, such as the Letter to the Hebrews, were not written directly by him. Three letters are also ascribed to the Apostle John; two to the Apostle Peter; and one each to the Apostles James and Jude. Finally there is the Book of Revelation, also called the Apocalypse, which is ascribed to St. John as well.
For the Orthodox, the Bible is the main written source of divine doctrine since God Himself inspired its writing by His Holy Spirit (see 2 Tim 3:16 and 2 Pet 1:20). This is the doctrine of the inspiration of the Bible, namely that men inspired by God wrote the words which are truly their own human words—all words are human!—but which nevertheless may be called all together the Word of God. Thus, the Bible is the Word of God in written form because it contains not merely the thoughts and experiences of men, but the very self-revelation of God.
The center of the Bible as the written Word of God in human form is the person of the Living Word of God in human form, Jesus Christ. All parts of the Bible are interpreted in the Orthodox Church in the light of Christ since everything in the Bible leads up to Christ and speaks about Him (Lk 24: 44). This fact is symbolized in the Orthodox Church by the fact that only the book of the four gospels is enthroned on the altars of our churches and not the entire Bible. This is so because everything in the Bible is fulfilled in Christ.

Reading Read Time Hit Count
Matthew 22:14 (2 Sundays before the Nativity) 1 min 4273
Matthew 22:15-22 (For Civil Holidays) 1 min 3868
Luke 17:12-19 (12th Sunday of Luke) 1 min 4891
Matthew 22:15-23:39 (Holy Tuesday Matins) 7 mins 5647
Luke 17:20-25 (10th Monday of Luke) 1 min 4401
Matthew 22:23-33 (10th Friday after Pentecost) 1 min 3769
Luke 17:26-37; 18:8 (10th Tuesday of Luke) 1 min 4329
Luke 18:2-8 (11th Saturday before Pascha) 1 min 4649
Matthew 22:35-46 (15th Sunday after Pentecost) 1 min 4417
Matthew 23:1-12 (14th Saturday after Pentecost) 1 min 3752
Luke 18:10-14 (4th Sunday before lent) 1 min 5583
Matthew 23:13-22 (11th Monday after Pentecost) 1 min 3805
Luke 18:15-17;26-30 (10th Wednesday of Luke) 1 min 4185
Matthew 23:23-28 (11th Tuesday after Pentecost) 1 min 3639
Luke 18:18-27 (13th Sunday of Luke) 1 min 4219
Matthew 23:29-39 (11th Wednesday after Pentecost) 1 min 3650
Luke 18:31-34 (10th Thursday of Luke) - 4036
Matthew 24:1-13 (15th Saturday after Pentecost) 1 min 4017
Luke 18:35-43 (14th Sunday of Luke) 1 min 4541
Matthew 24:3-35 (Holy Monday – Presanctified) 4 mins 4108
Luke 19:1-10 (15th Sunday of Luke, Zacchaios Sunday) 1 min 6140
Matthew 24:13-28 (11th Thursday after Pentecost) 2 mins 3727
Luke 19:12-28 (10th Friday of Luke) 2 mins 5448
Matthew 24:27-33, 42-51 (11th Friday after Pentecost) 1 min 4624