Scripture Readings - New Testament Readings

New Testament Readings

The books of the Bible which contain the revelation of God since the coming of Christ: the four Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, the seven General Epistles, the fourteen Epistles of Saint Paul, and the Book of Revelation (Apocalypse).

The center of the New Testament part of the Bible is the four gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John who are called the four evangelists, which means those who wrote the gospels. Gospel in Greek is ‘evangelion’ which, as we have seen, means the “glad tidings” or the “good news.”
In the New Testament scripture there is also the book of the Acts of the Apostles, written by St. Luke. There are fourteen letters called the epistles (which simply means letters) of the Apostle Paul, though perhaps some, such as the Letter to the Hebrews, were not written directly by him. Three letters are also ascribed to the Apostle John; two to the Apostle Peter; and one each to the Apostles James and Jude. Finally there is the Book of Revelation, also called the Apocalypse, which is ascribed to St. John as well.
For the Orthodox, the Bible is the main written source of divine doctrine since God Himself inspired its writing by His Holy Spirit (see 2 Tim 3:16 and 2 Pet 1:20). This is the doctrine of the inspiration of the Bible, namely that men inspired by God wrote the words which are truly their own human words—all words are human!—but which nevertheless may be called all together the Word of God. Thus, the Bible is the Word of God in written form because it contains not merely the thoughts and experiences of men, but the very self-revelation of God.
The center of the Bible as the written Word of God in human form is the person of the Living Word of God in human form, Jesus Christ. All parts of the Bible are interpreted in the Orthodox Church in the light of Christ since everything in the Bible leads up to Christ and speaks about Him (Lk 24: 44). This fact is symbolized in the Orthodox Church by the fact that only the book of the four gospels is enthroned on the altars of our churches and not the entire Bible. This is so because everything in the Bible is fulfilled in Christ.

Reading Read Time Hit Count
Jude 1:1-7; 17-25 (Apostle and Evangelist Luke) 2 mins 2831
Ephesians 1:1-9 (16th Thursday after Pentecost) 1 min 3754
Galatians 1:1-10,20-2:5 (14th Thursday after Pentecost) 2 mins 3713
James 1:1-12 (Vespers, Apostle) 1 min 4135
I John 1:1-7 (St. John) 1 min 4572
II Peter 1:1-10 (33rd Friday after Pentecost) 1 min 3204
II Corinthians 1:1-7 (10th Thursday after Pentecost) 1 min 3853
III John 1:1-15 (Monday before lent) 2 mins 4632
II John 1:1-13 (Friday after the Prodigal Son) 2 mins 4729
I Peter 1:1-2;10-12;2:6-10 (32nd Friday after Pentecost) 2 mins 4283
Titus 1:5-2:1 (28th Thursday after Pentecost) 1 min 4306
I Timothy 1:1-7 (26th Monday after Pentecost) 1 min 4026
II Timothy 1:1-2; 8-18 (27th Friday after Pentecost) 2 mins 3912
II Thessalonians 1:1-10 (25th Monday after Pentecost) 1 min 3876
I Thessalonians 1:1-5 (23rd Monday after Pentecost) 1 min 3828
Colossians 1:1-3; 7-11 (21th Tuesday after Pentecost) 1 min 3871
Philippians 1:1-7 (19th Monday after Pentecost) 1 min 3946
Hebrews 1:1-12 (1st Saturday of lent) 1 min 5925
I Corinthians 1:1-9 (6th Tuesday after Pentecost) 1 min 4376
Romans 1:1-7,13-17 (1st Tuesday after Pentecost) 1 min 4489
Luke 1:5-25 (Forerunner Conception) 2 mins 5156
Mark 1:1-8 (Sunday before Theophany) 1 min 6180
Matthew 1:1-25 (Sunday Before Nativity) 3 mins 6347
John 1:1-17 (Sunday of Holy Pascha) 1 min 6530