Scripture Readings - I Kings

I Kings (III Kingdoms)
Like the two books of Samuel, 1st and 2nd Kings (in the Orthodox Bibles, 3rd and 4th Kingdoms) were originally one.
First Kings begins with the enthronement of Solomon and the death of David (Ch. 1-2) and recounts the history of Solomon’s reign (Ch. 3-11). It then continues with the history of the Kings of the Divided Monarchy (Southern Kingdom of Judah, with its capital at Jerusalem, and the Northern Kingdom of Israel, with its capital at Samaria) through the reigns of Ahab of Israel and Jehoshaphat of Judah (Ch. 12-22). Here also we encounter the dramatic story of Elijah the Prophet (1 Kings 17-2 Kings 2).
The purpose of the two books of Kings is to show the causes of the Fall of the Kingdom. The catastrophes of 721 (Fall of Samaria) and 587 (Fall of Jerusalem) are seen as a just punishment for the failure of the majority of the Kings of both the Northern and Southern Kingdoms to practice monotheism and observe the unity of the Sanctuary in Jerusalem as demanded by the Law. Israel, not God, had been unfaithful to the Sinai Covenant. If Israel is to resume her God-given mission, she must repent and leave the future to God’s unswerving faithfulness and to His steadfast love.

Reading Read Time Hit Count
I Kings 7:51, 8:1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-11 (Vespers – Entry of the Theotokos) 1 min 4566
I Kings 8:22-23, 27-30 (Vespers, Saints) 1 min 4418
I Kings 17:1-23 (Vespers, 1st Reading – Elijah) 3 mins 4381
I King 17:8-24 (Holy Saturday Vespers) 3 mins 5482
I Kings 18:30-39 (Eve of the Theophany) 2 mins 5316
I Kings 19:3-9, 11-13, 15-16 (Vespers – Transfiguration) 2 mins 4572
I Kings – Composite of 17:1-23 (Vespers, Prophet Elias) 3 mins 3731
I Kings – Composite of 18, 19 (Vespers, Prophet Elias) 8 mins 4440
I Kings – Composite of – I Kings 19:19, 20, 21; II Kings 2:1,6-14 (Vespers, Prophet Elias) 2 mins 5165