Read time: -4408 Hits

METROPOLITAN COUNCIL – In the Orthodox Church in America, the Metropolitan Council is the permanent executive body of the Church Administration which exists for the purpose of implementing the decisions of the All-American Council and continuing its work between sessions. It consists of the Metropolitan as Chairman, the Chancellor, the Secretary, the Treasurer, two representatives from each diocese, one priest and one layman to be elected by the Diocesan Assemblies, and three priests and three laymen elected by the All-American Council.