Great Lent Services 2024

Read time: 1 min
By: Fr. Matthew
1951 Hits

Great Lent Services 2024

Fasting for Presanctified Liturgy should begin after consumption of Lunch. Fasting through Great Lent should include abstaining from meat after Meatfare Sunday, and dairy products as well after Cheesefare Sunday. We may eat shellfish at any time, and fish with back bones on Annunciation, and the Entry into Jerusalem. Fasting for Holy Saturday should be a small dinner around 5PM in preparation for the Pascha Vigil Service at 11:30PM. All of us should regularly participate in Confession (once every three to four weeks) especially during Great Lent in preparation for Pascha. To facilitate regular Confession, we will continue to celebrate a General Confession and will be available for personal Confession after all Lenten services.

Services of Great Lent 2024

  • March 10 (Sunday) 10 AM Divine Liturgy, Meatfare
  • March 17. (Sunday) 10 AM Liturgy, Cheesefare Sunday
  • March 20 (Wednesday) 6:30 PM Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts (St. Gregory)  (service canceled)
  • March 24 (Sunday) 10 AM Divine Liturgy Sunday of Orthodoxy
  • March 27 (Wednesday) 630PM Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts (service canceled)
  • March 31 (Sunday) 10 AM Liturgy Sunday of St. Gregory Palamas
  • April 3 (Wednesday) 6:30PM Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts (service canceled)
  • April 7 (Sunday) 10 AM Divine Liturgy Sunday of the Veneration of the Cross
  • April 10 (Wednesday) 6:30PM Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
  • April 14 (Sunday) 10 AM Liturgy, St. John Climacus
  • April 17 (Wednesday) 6:30PM Liturgy of the Presanctified Giftsp
  • April 21 (Sunday) 10AM Divine Liturgy  Sunday of St. Mary of Egypt
  • April 24 (Wednesday) 6:30PM Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
  • April 28 (Sunday) 10AM Divine Liturgy  Entry of the Lord into Jerusalem
  • April 30 (Tuesday) 6:30PM Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts
  • May 1 (Wednesday) 6:30 PM Sacrament of Holy Unction – Healing Sacrament, open to all Orthodox Christians
  • May 3 (Friday) 7 PM Holy Friday Matins
  • May 4-5 (Saturday-Sunday) 11:30PM Holy Pascha Vigil (Nocturns, Matins, Divine Liturgy and blessing of baskets)