Orthodox Church of the Mother of God

Joy of all the Sorrowful - Mays Landing, NJ (f. 1966)


Share |
ARCHDEACON - A higher rank of deacon (if the deacon is married the equivalent is "protodeacon"). The first archdeacon was the Martyr Stephen, who was chosen as one of the seven deacons by the Apostles. The other six deacons were: Philip, Prochor, Nikanor, Timon, Parmen and Nicholas (Acrs 6:3-7).

Search site

See also other pages on our website:

Loading ...